NV attends 2023 National Innovation Day

Republic Act (RA) No. 11293 otherwise known as the “Philippine Innovation Act” was signed by President Rodrigo R. Duterte on April 17, 2019. The law mandates the creation of the National Innovation Council (NIC) that will steer the whole-of-government coordination and collaboration and to remove the fragmentation in the country’s innovation governance.

The NIC is also tasked to set the direction of the country’s innovation goals, priorities, and long-term national strategies through the formulation of the National Innovation Agenda and Strategy Document (NIASD).

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 28 of the Act, the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), in coordination with the Department of Science and Technology (DOST) and the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), shall formulate and promulgate the Implementing Rules and Regulations to ensure the effective implementation of the Act.

As per Rule 7 of RA 11293,  functions of the National Innovation Council include: (a) Develop the country’s strategic vision for innovation and long-term innovation goals and priorities consistent and aligned with the country’s long-term vision and global and regional commitments; (b) Develop the country’s innovation strategies to ensure coherent strategic direction and programs; (c) Serve as a source of strategic intelligence for national research and innovation policy-making; (d) Engage scientific and technological expertise, both domestic and foreign, in strategic and innovation policy-making; among others.

The Provincial Government of Nueva Vizcaya (PGNV) through the Provincial Cooperative and Development (PROCEDE) Office represented by its Chief Juditte L. Asuncion, Project Development Officer IV (PDO IV) Roel P. Dolaypan, Jr. and Cooperative Development Specialist II (CDS II) Marvin Tucay, received a Certificate of Appreciation for being an invaluable partner in addressing the country’s socioeconomic challenges through its innovative solutions and in recognition of its successful implementation of the 2022 Innovation Grants entitled : Vizcaya Optimization of Incubation Centers for Economic Sustainability (VOICES) on April 28, 2023 at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City.

The 2023 National Innovation Day with the theme “HABI: Huddle. Analyze. Build. Innovate” was part of the National Innovation Council’s series of advocacy activities, designed to provide  platform for stimulating creativity and empathy by utilizing design thinking to address the challenges across the ten innovation priority areas, provide an avenue to foster connections, engagement, and collaboration among innovation ecosystem actors and stakeholders, including the first batch of innovation fund grantees, and garner support from innovation champions across the public and private sectors, such as Congress, businesses, and development partners.

Representatives from the government, private sector, development partners, and civil society conveyed their messages of support and shared their respective initiatives related to Filipinnovation. The event showcased the potential of innovation as a driving force for positive change in the Philippines.

This event is organized by the National Innovation Council in coordination with NEDA, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI), DOST, Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Department of Education (DepEd), Technical Education and Skills Development Authority (TESDA) and with assistance from United Nations Development Program (UNDP).

The PGNV is one of the 20 successful innovation grantees in the country. #mvs

Ms. Juditte L. Asuncion, Chief, PROCEDE Office (center), receives a Certificate of Appreciation on behalf of the PGNV, recognizing the province as one of the 20 successful innovation grantees in the country, on April 28, 2023 at the Philippine International Convention Center, Pasay City. With her are (from L-R), Undersecretary Rosemarie G. Edillon, NEDA, Secretary Renato Solidum, Jr., DOST, Marvin Tucay, CDS II, Roel P. Dolaypan, Jr., PDO-IV, Executive Secretary Lucas P. Bersamin, and Secretary Arsenio M. Balisacan, NEDA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.