COMELEC delivers ballots to NV

COMELEC delivers ballots to NV

Municipal treasurers of the province came to the Nueva Vizcaya Convention Center at the Provincial Capitol, Bayombong, on April 28, 2022 for the formal turnover of official ballots which will be used for the forthcoming national and local elections in their respective jurisdictions.

Election watchers and officers as well as some members of the media were also present to witness the event.

The whole distribution process was supervised by Atty. Erwin M. Valeroso, Provincial Election Supervisor of the COMELEC-Nueva Vizcaya Field Office, and Provincial Treasurer Rhoda S. Moreno of the Provincial Government of Nueva Vizcaya.

PT Moreno said that part of her office’s responsibility is to keep a record of the quantity and serial numbers of the ballots handed over to the 15 municipal treasurers.

The COMELEC has also deputized other concerned institutions, including the Philippine National Police (PNP) and Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) “to ensure free, orderly, honest, fair and credible elections, and to preserve the secrecy and sanctity of the ballot in order that the citizenry shall be assured that the results of the electoral exercise are truly reflective of their will.” 

According to COMELEC officials, the printing of the last batch of the more than 67.4 million ballots needed for next month’s elections was completed last April 2, which is way ahead of the target completion date of April 25. 

The poll body has allocated 296,233 ballots for the province of Nueva Vizcaya, broken down as follows: Alfonso Castañeda-6,141; Ambaguio-7,421; Aritao-23,422; Bagabag-22,035; Bambang-33,725; Bayombong-38,252; Diadi-11,517; Dupax del Norte-18,898; Dupax del Sur-14,075; Kasibu-24,670; Kayapa-15,603; Quezon-15,611; Santa Fe-12,513; Solano-40,348; and Villaverde-12,002.

Meanwhile, PES Valeroso also released an advisory to all concerned, including the media, on the convening of the Provincial Board of Canvassers at 1:00 PM on May 9, 2022 at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Session Hall.

The Board is composed of the following: Chairman, PES Valeroso; Vice-chairman, Atty. Emerson A. Turingan, Provincial Prosecutor; Member-Secretary, Rachel R. Llana, PhD, CESO VI, Schools Division Superintendent, SDO-Nueva Vizcaya; and Consolidation and Canvassing System (CCS) Operator, Jayson D. Velasco, Teacher III, DepEd-Dupax del Sur.

Among its functions are: initialize the CCS machine; receive and canvass the electronically transmitted Certificates of Canvass (COCs); transmit the consolidated canvass report for National Positions; and proclaim the winning candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.