Bayombong’s MCDC reorganizes anew 

Bayombong’s MCDC reorganizes anew

The Cooperative Development Authority (CDA), through the Provincial Cooperative Development Council (PCDC) of Nueva Vizcaya, convened top cooperative leaders of the Municipality of Bayombong, along with representatives of national and local government offices and other institutions that have cooperative development programs, projects, and activities (PPAs), on August 25, 2022, at the LGU-DepEd Gymnasium, Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya.

The main objective of the meeting is to come up with a new set of officers for the town’s Cooperative Development Council (CDC), pursuant to CDA Memorandum Circular No. 2022-03, dated February 02, 2022, which provides the latest guidelines on the structure, organization, and operation of cooperative development councils across the country.

Established at the national (NCDC), regional (RCDC), provincial (PCDC), city (CCDC), and municipal (MCDC) levels under the supervision of the CDA, the composite councils are empowered to “coordinate and harmonize the implementation of various cooperative plans, programs, projects, and activities of the government”.

Part of their mandate is to “assist the CDA in the broad-based monitoring and coordination of the implementation of the Philippine Cooperative Development Plan (PCDP), through the collective efforts of all sectors and to develop such mechanism in line with the PCDP”.

Policy proposals affecting cooperatives for local and national implementation are also expected to emanate from the CDCs.

The Provincial Cooperative and Enterprise Development (PROCEDE) Office of the Provincial Government of Nueva Vizcaya (PGNV) serves as the Secretariat of the PCDC. The day’s activity was coordinated and facilitated by this Office through its Cooperative Development Division headed by Supervising Cooperative Development Specialist Arturo A. Palafox. Assisting him were the Division’s Cooperative Development Specialist II Imelda B. Yaban and Administrative Aide III Maricris B. Romero.

Preceding the election of MCDC officers was the presentation of agency/office programs and services by S&T Director Jonathan R. Nuestro and Provincial Cooperative Affairs Officer Juditte L. Asuncion of the DOST-NV and PGNV, respectively.

Bayombong Mayor Antonio G. Bagasao, who also expressed his full support to the cooperative movement, administered the Oath of Office to the newly elected set of MCDC officers led by Chairperson Vivencio P. Magno from the Seed Growers of Nueva Vizcaya Agriculture Cooperative.

The other officers are Vice-chairperson Alfredo M. Dela Cruz (Upper Magat Agriculture Cooperative), Secretary Jannyn N. Lafeguera (Department of Trade and Industry), Treasurer Irma B. Remo (Saint Mary’s University Employees and Retirees Association Multipurpose Cooperative), Auditor Agnes G. Maniquiz (Bayombong Municipal Employees Multipurpose Cooperative), and Public Information Officer Jimmy L. Calata (Nueva Vizcaya Government Employees Multipurpose Cooperative/Public Affairs and Information Assistance Division).

Rachel L. Bahiwag (PLT Multipurpose Cooperative was chosen to chair the Committee on Ways and Means. Its members are Jonathan R. Nuestro (Department of Science and Technology – NV Office), Gloria B. Gatatawan (Department of Agrarian Reform – NV Office), Jesabelle M. Cuyahon (Magapuy Farmers Multipurpose Cooperative), John M. Calamug (Lower Addawan Agriculture Cooperative), Liza M. Lanuza (Diffun Saranay Development Cooperative), Winzelle D. Allaga (Malabing Valley Multipurpose Cooperative), Silver M. Jerusalem (Nueva Vizcaya Tricycle Operators and Drivers Multipurpose Cooperative), Sigrid Grace T. Noble (Sonday Dam Irrigators Agriculture Cooperative), Jimmy A. Santiago (Highlands Agriculture Cooperative), Flaviano L. Anacio (St. Catherine Parish of Nueva Vizcaya Multipurpose Cooperative), Daren S. Eraña (CBE Entrepreneurs Savings and Credit Cooperative), Verlyne G. Buhay (Highland’s Agro-Forestry Agriculture Cooperative), Laura Den A. Perillo (Nueva Vizcaya Multipurpose Medical Cooperative), Julie L. Palasi (Greeners Multipurpose Cooperative), Aivan Lester D. Sapla (Developing Self-Reliance and Trust Multipurpose Cooperative), and Josehn Publico-Deus (VRH Consumers Cooperative).

They shall all serve for a term of two (2) years under the umbrella of PCDC led by Chairperson Miguel B. Dela Cruz (Saint Patrick Parish Multipurpose Cooperative), Vice-chairperson Merlie S. Pescasio (Mauan Grassroots Multipurpose Cooperative), Secretary Melinda G. Rosette (Designated Municipal Cooperative Development Officer of the Municipal Government of Quezon), Treasurer Pacita T. Balinggan (Saint Joseph Parish Multipurpose Cooperative), and Auditor George R. Tucay (Aritao Irrigators Multipurpose Cooperative).

The PCDC has the following advisers: Benedicta D. Dela Peña (Saint Joseph Parish Multipurpose Cooperative), Arnel G. Domincel (Nueva Vizcaya Alay Kapwa Multipurpose Cooperative), and Nieto P. Bacena (Nueva Vizcaya State University Multipurpose Cooperative).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.