PSC screens hundreds of scholarship applicants

PSC screens hundreds of scholarship applicants

Board Member Patricio F. Dumlao, Jr., Chairperson of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan’s Committee on Education, presided over the meeting of the Provincial Scholarship Committee (PSC) of the Provincial Government of Nueva Vizcaya (PGNV) held on September 19, 2022 at the Provincial Treasury Function Room, Provincial Capitol.

This meeting was called for the purpose of screening the more than 320 Batch 5 applicants under the Nueva Vizcaya SAGUT Scholarship Program (NVSSP). Bayombong tops the list with its 41 applicants, while Alfonso Castañeda’s 10 is the lowest.

The special body’s deliberations also covered certain issues concerning the present scholars and the program per se.

BM Dumlao stressed the need to strictly observe the set screening criteria for the attractive, but highly competitive, NVSSP that has been drawing an increasing number of applicants from the different municipalities of the province.

Each of the applicants was rated based on the following criteria: Course (35%), General Weighted Average (25%), NVSU Admission Test Rating-IQ Classification (15%), Average Monthly Family Income (15%), Source of Income and Number of Siblings (5%), and other factors (5%).

Ms. Joanna Rose E. Diares, Administrative Aide IV of the Public Employment Services Division (PESD), said that the NVSSP, which has been running for about five years already, can only accommodate a maximum of 300 beneficiaries. Under the program, five scholars from each of the fifteen municipalities of the province are admitted every year to replace those who are graduating.

“The latest package of benefits for each scholar consists of a P5,000 monthly stipend, and a book and uniform allowance of P2,500 that is given every first semester”, she added.

The members of the PSC that is chaired by Governor Carlos M. Padilla and co-chaired by BM Dumlao are as follows: BM Victor B. Gines, Jr., President of the Liga ng mga Barangay; Engr. Maria Jonem P. Gacad, Provincial Scholarship Coordinator; Dr. Rachel R. Llana, Schools Division Superintendent; Ms. Joan A. Piñon, NVSU President’s Representative – Bayombong Campus; Ms. Jesusa L. Naui, NVSU President’s Representative – Bambang Campus; Dr. Leticia B. Puguon, President of PARDS; and Mr. Keneith M. Natura, President of the NVSU Student Council.

The Secretariat that is providing technical and administrative support to the PSC is headed by PESD Chief Dolly Rose C. Minas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.