VG Tomas leads 10th SP Session - Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines
<-- -->

VG Tomas leads 10th SP Session

By on July 1, 2019

“Today, 01 July, marks a major changing of the guards at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) of the Province of Nueva Vizcaya, particularly the Office of the Vice Governor, with newly elected Jose ‘Tam-an’ D. Tomas, Sr. being now at the helm.

Three (3) new Board Members are also joining the August Body, namely, first-timers BM Eunice Galima Gambol and BM Cirilo R. Galindez, and comebacking BM Primo Percival J. Marcos.

Vice Governor and Presiding Officer Tomas led the first Session of the 10th Sangguniang Panlalawigan held this morning at the SP Session Hall, Provincial Capitol, Bayombong.

In his inaugural address, VG Tomas took the occasion to express his gratitude to all those who helped in propelling him to the Province’s highest local government legislative position.

He projected among his audience, the perception of being a conciliatory and inclusive manager, as he enjoined his fellow public servants and provincemates, in general, “to set aside whatever bitterness and divisions among us, and instead, to start working together for the betterment and sustained progress of our beloved Nueva Vizcaya.”

In pursuing his sworn mandate, VG Tomas who belongs to the Tuwali tribe, is expected to put into concrete legislative measures his campaign-bannered ideals for Public Administration and Governance, which are lumped into six disciplines, i.e., Good Governance, Employment, Education, Health, Agriculture, and Promotion of Indigenous Peoples and Cultural Communities.

That challenge would not be much of an uphill struggle as the members of the August body, along with the leaders of the Executive branch, also have those concerns on their respective provincial development agenda.

The newly constituted local legislature proceeded to tackle its sole agendum, the usual assignment of key SP positions and standing committee chairmanships, with BM Nestor M. Sevillena being retained as Presiding Officer Pro Tempore, and BM Patricio F. Dumlao, Jr. assuming the Majority Floor Leader position that was vacated by 3-termer BM Johnny B. Liban who opted to vow out from Public Service.