Outstanding NVSSP grantees to get more incentives

Outstanding NVSSP grantees to get more incentives

Ordinance No. 2021-215 that amends Section 27 of Ordinance No. 2017-140, otherwise known as “An Ordinance Institutionalizing the Nueva Vizcaya Sagut Scholarship Program (NVSSP), and Appropriating Funds Therefor”, took effect upon its signing by Governor Carlos M. Padilla on December 22, 2021.

Specifically, the amendment which was passed by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) nine days earlier provides for the awarding of cash incentives to NVSSP grantees who graduate with honors as follows: Summa Cum Laude, P15,000; Magna Cum Laude, P10,000; and Cum Laude, P5,000. A much bigger incentive of P100,000 will also be given to a board topnotcher grantee in any examination administered by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) or any similar government institution.

Board Member-Floor Leader Patricio F. Dumlao, Jr. who is concurrently Chairperson of the SP’s Committee on Education said that this was propounded by Governor Padilla after having been informed about grantees graduating Magna Cum Laude and passing a licensure examination. He also said that he strongly supports the Governor’s belief that “the funds being spent for the scholars are not just ordinary expenses but invaluable investments for our youth who are the future and hope of our nation.”

The NVSSP is one of the flagship projects under the (E)ducation component of the PRAYERS N FAITH platform of governance and public administration of the Provincial Government of Nueva Vizcaya (PGNV). It is being implemented by the Provincial Scholarship Committee (PSC) that is chaired by the Governor himself.

BM Dumlao serves as Vice-Chairperson of the PSC. He was also a primary sponsor of the PAMANA Scholarship Program, the precursor of the NVSSP whose implementation systems, policies, and procedures were crafted with the technical support of the Practitioners and Advocates of Rural Development for Sustainability (PARDS), an association of post-graduate professionals.

The other mandated committee members are the Schools Division Superintendent, Provincial President of the Liga ng mga Barangays, President of the Nueva Vizcaya State University (NVSU), representative of a concerned SP-accredited Civil Society Organization, and Student Body Organization President.

Ms. Dolly Rose C. Minas, Acting Chief of the Provincial Government’s Public Employment Services Division (PESD), heads the PSC Secretariat.

Ms. Minas said, “The NVSSP which has been running for four years had already reached its maximum quota of 300 scholars. Under the program, five scholars from each of the fifteen municipalities of the province are admitted every year to replace those who are graduating. The latest package of benefits for each scholar consists of a P5,000 monthly stipend, and a book and uniform allowance of P2,500 that is given every first semester.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Office of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan

Covid19 Updates

October 11, 2022