3 NV towns receive corn award - Nueva Vizcaya, Philippines
<-- -->

3 NV towns receive corn award

By on November 19, 2019

The Provincial Agricultural Office (PAO) assisted and showed support to the awardees of the province from the municipal level during the 7th National Quality Corn Achievers Awards held at Iloilo Convention Center, Iloilo City on November 12-14.

The National Quality Corn Achievers Award is conferred to cities, municipalities, and provinces in the country for their outstanding performance towards the production of quality corn and the development of the corn industry.

The municipalities of Villaverde, Quezon and Diadi were awarded Outstanding Municipalities and received 1 million pesos each. These municipalities have to maintain its outstanding award for 3 consecutive years to get the hall of fame award and receive bigger incentives. Diadi and Quezon are on its second year. Villaverde was a hall of famer in 2015 and again qualified for the award after resting for 3 years.

Gilbert Cadiente of Quezon, Susana Muli of Diadi and Arsenio Mariñas of Villaverde received P30,000 each for garnering Outstanding Agriculturist of said municipalities. Johna Viola Dacanay of Villaverde received P25,000 for being an Outstanding Municipal Corn Coordinator.

Outstanding Agricultural Extension Workers (AEW) with P20,000 each were awarded to Eddie Carganilla Jr. of Quezon, Julie Sarmiento of Solano, Crystal Gem Bia of Diadi, Neille Gianne Ruiz and Juanito Buanan of Villaverde.

Accompanying them from PAO were Assistant Provincial Agriculturist Engr. Virgilio V. Dela Cruz; Oliver T. Toledo, Provincial Corn Coordinator; with AEWs Ma. Cristina S. Opeña and Marie Jean B. Novelozo. #bg