AC2023 holds marathon deliberation on PGNV’s budget

AC2023 holds marathon deliberation on PGNV’s budget

The Ad Hoc Committee on the 2023 Annual Budget Authorization (AC2023) of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Nueva Vizcaya (SPNV) headed by Board Member Patricio F. Dumlao, Jr. held its second leg of deliberations on the proposed budgets of the different offices of the Provincial Government of Nueva Vizcaya (PGNV) on November 3-5, 2022 in Baguio City.

This was preceded by an engagement with the Local Finance Committee (LFC) last October 19 at the SPNV Session Hall, Provincial Capitol where the Committee scrutinized the details and sources of funds for CY2023 amounting to P2,074, 592,302.18, which is about 9.4% lower than the CY2022’s figure, as reported by Provincial Treasurer Rhoda S. Moreno.

The opening session of the three-day activity in Baguio City, attended by all regular and ex officio board members of the SPNV, was also graced by Governor Carlos M. Padilla purposely to lend his moral support to the August body.

The AC2023 has set its succeeding hearing for next week, November 8, back to the Provincial Capitol, for the proposed budgets of certain national government agencies deriving some funding support from the PGNV.

AC2023 Chair Dumlao said that they are hopeful of being able “to complete all their expected outputs consisting of agreed or compromised special conditions and limitations and submit the same to the SPNV, just in time for the passage of the requisite Ordinance mandated under Sec 319 of the Local Government Code of 1991”.

In his opening message, he explained that they are indeed taking cognizance of the aforesaid limited resources of the PGNV, including the extant and future natural and economic environments of the province and its component LGUs as presented by Provincial Planning and Development Coordinator Edgardo D. Sabado.

“Specifically, we are aware of the adverse effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, African Swine Fever, the ongoing war between Russia and Ukraine, and the more pervasive climate change, all of which have no end in sight as yet and individually and collectively posing a serious global concern. This is not to mention the impacts of perennial onslaughts of natural disasters, such as typhoons, floods, and earthquakes.”, he said.

He linked the planning and budgeting process to the overarching PRAYERS N FAITH platform of public administration and governance of the present leadership, a holistic development framework adopted by the PGNV dating back to the regime of then-Governor Ruth R. Padilla, as he challenged everyone to work harder and be a productive team.

He said that the key here is the “Call for Unity” being espoused by Vice Governor and SPNV Presiding Officer Jose V. Gambito, which is also being supported by Governor Padilla and all the board members.

“All told, we must judiciously and conscientiously evaluate the proposed 2023 Local Expenditure Program (LEP2023) of the PGNV and give our support to its final form, for at the end of the day, as leaders of our beloved province to whom our sovereign people have given their precious trust and confidence, we must assure that the subject budget will indeed redound to the benefit of all and our posterity”, he ended.

Here is the full lineup of this year’s Committee, which was reorganized by virtue of SPNV Resolution No. 2022-11-017, dated October 3, 2022:
BM Patricio F. DUMLAO, Jr.
BM Edgardo C. BALGOS
BM Roland M. CARUB, J.D.
BM Eufemia A. DACAYO
BM Florante S. GERDAN
BM Elma Pinao-An LEJAO
BM Primo Percival J. MARCOS
BM Delbert D. TIDANG, Sr.
Ex officio BM Samuel G. BALINHAWANG – Provincial Indigenous Peoples Mandatory Representative
Ex officio BM Victor B. GINES, Jr. – President, Liga ng mga Barangay, NV Chapter
Ex officio BM Marizel A. REYES – President, Provincial Federation of Sangguniang Kabataan, NV Chapter
Ex officio BM Byron C. SEVILLENA – President, Provincial Councilors League, NV Chapter

Incidentally, AC2023 Chair Dumlao also disclosed that BM Lejao and BM Gambol have been elected just recently as Treasurer and BOD Member, respectively, of the Provincial Board Members League of the Philippines (PBMLP) for the period CY2022-CY2025.

More PHOTOS here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Office of the Sangguniang Panlalawigan

Covid19 Updates

October 11, 2022